not sure how to make a good website of my own or run this blog... help

2024-09-04 14:38 IST


after my confusinog with social media, i decided that while i can keep shifting websites, i need to have a definitive “home” base, and i decided my static website could do that. one problem:

i don’t know how to make a pretty website

i wanna have a website that looks cool and pretty but i can hardly figure any of this out. i might be able to learn something but i wish i had some knowledgable friends to do this. i think that’s a major part of the problem, i don’t really KNOW how any of this works, i’m just rawdogging this shit, probably gonna regret it later.

the blogging issue

one thing i dont understand is how to decide when to write a blog post. with a microblogging/shitposting approach, i just put a thought out as soon as it comes, but i can’t spam my blog as much (i could but it would defeat the purpose, in some way, or so i feel.) i feel like i should wait till a thought if fully finished… although that feels weird.

THIS blog post was originally part of the last blog post, i just decided to keep them seperate bc i realised the topics are pretty distinct. this is scary. why am i spamming my blog already?

the categorization issue

this is one i’ve struggled with for most of my life. what goes where? should i make my blog an interconnected web with backlinks to anything that links to anything? but then what about knowledge? what about concepts? should those be in my library in my main website outside of my blog? should these be interconnected? can this blog be a “log” of my life while the library is a collection of my knowledge? but then what if i want to update something in the library? wouldn’t i lose the information there? then should i just keep everything in my blog bc everything builds up without erasing hte past? but then do i have to go back and update old links when i progress in a single concept?

categorizing things will KILL me. i dont know how to do it

aesthetics

I WANT MY WEBSITE TO LOOK PRETTY. I LIKE PRETTY THINGS. ALL THESE WEBSTES ARE SO PRETTY. I WANT MINE TO BE PRETTY

most web design coures i see are aimed at making corporate good websites, in fact most people from the old web didn’t study this formally, they just came up with cool creative shit BUT I HAVE NO CREATIVITY. WHAT DO I DO?!?

help